Words without action? Show me!

What Eliza Doolittle (My Fair Lady) can teach us about communication and strategic action in business so we can get things done

Maura Charles, Keep it Human
3 min readMay 4, 2023

Marina, a product leader I have known for many years, recently told me that this quote had been sticking with her:

“Without action, the world would still be an idea”

— Georges F. Doriot, INSEAD Founder

Action speaks louder than words.

As a musician and arts lover, my next thought was of Eliza Doolittle singing “Show Me” in My Fair Lady.

Words! Words! Words!
I’m so sick of words!
I get words all day through;
First from him, now from you!
Is that all you blighters can do?

Words vs. Action

Although I’m firmly in the camp of “words matter,” I’ve always loved the song “Show Me” because it’s about the moment when it’s time to stop talking…

--

--

Maura Charles, Keep it Human

Product leadership consultant and coach focused on the human side of innovation, especially communication and emotional intelligence.